Must Have Been

The first time I saw you and gazed into those beautiful eyes,
Must have been the last time my heart was ice

The first time our hands touched the shakes calmed and the feel was warm
Must have been the last time I had a girl show me how to hold

The first time we spoke your laugh echoed and your smile was engraved in my mind
Must have been the last time I thought girls were a waste of time

The first time we kissed you had to silence me I talked too much
Must have been the last time a girl had to tell me to hush

The first time we fought we hugged so hard our chests crushed
Must have been the last time I got slapped and made you mad

The first time we broke up was the first time I broke down
Must have been the last time a girl brought me down little did know I’d be seeing you around

Seasons came seasons went we fell in love love faded
Flowers bloomed leaves fell for some reason I was hated

Remember, how we thought all the firsts would last
Then the fights that came at last what we had broke was like glass

No going back we were adamant. On top of that you were seeing another man
But when the day ended and the lights went off its me you were thinking of after dark

So many questions but one remains do you still love me?
Who will answer that
How did something so beautiful turn ugly

Ours was an accidental love guess that’s why it turned tragic
Tears appeared smiles disappeared like magic

Abracadabra I’d rather have another but how could I love any other
What happened to umbrellas and us together through stormy weather

Well I guess all that starts ends
I’ll have the firsts and the lasts
The heart and the laughs

2 thoughts on “Must Have Been

Add yours

  1. Maybe the love never faded…maybe she has trying to find her mr right and yet he had been there all along…maybe she is just waiting for you to come by…one more time…to make things right…as tbey had been before…just maybe…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Utterly beautiful,
    *steals it for my OneNote, closes #HerSequel chapters :-p

    Well I guess all that starts ends
    I’ll have the firsts and the lasts
    The heart and the laughs

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

